The Seven Principles of the Constitution

Match each principle of the Constitution to its meaning.

1) popular sovereignty

Elected representatives make and enforce laws.

2) republicanism

Each branch can limit the actions of the other two.

The people hold the ultimate authority in the government.

4) Separation of powers

Government powers are defined and

separation of powers restricted by the Constitution.

5) Checks and balances The Constitution protects individual freedoms and rights.

Powers are divided between federal and state governments.

The government is divided into three branches.

limited government

6)

7)